Are you in this family???

I guess now is as good as a time as any.  I AM LATINA.  Uh huh, I said it.

My dad is and forever will be an entrepreneur.  His new t-shirt business is called I Love Being Latino, and today my parents and my Nino (my uncle) had a booth set up at The Latino Book & Family Festival at Cal State University of Los Angeles.  My best friend from college and I went along for the ride, and even though I didn’t know what to expect, as soon as I walked in wearing my “I heart LAtinos” t-shirt and heard the infamous mexican beat coming from the speakers, I knew exactly where I was. LOS ANGELES.  L.A. has always had a profound Latino community and although I don’t speak spanish (tisk, tisk, I know), or listen to Piolin on La Nueva 101.9FM, I most definitely have a huge family and consider beans and rice a delicious staple.  There’s nothing more satisfying than a bean and cheese burrito with avocado, cilantro and a side of rice.  OH DEAR LORD it’s good.

I was able to take a small break from using my sweet sales-woman skills (duh, getting people to take a quick survey and handing out free t-shirts) to walk around and snap a few photos.

Here is our booth!  My cute momma and besty Megan.

Some t-shirt designs.

Some other booths around us.  Lots of Dia De Los Muertos stuff.

Some pretty cool art…

More brunettes than you’ll ever see.  HAHA.

Fancy jewelry that I would never wear.  Hahahaha.  Don’t judge me–it’s fine, I mean, nice.  🙂

Bilingual books.  I can’t read these, and they’re for kids.  HHAAAHAHA.  DANGIT.

By far my favorite part.  THE DANCERS.  Heelloooo, these girls are the jam in their colorful flouncy dresses and nude heels.  I think I stood here for a solid six minutes with my mouth open and foot tapping.  I hear a beat and I can’t help it.  I’m instantly involved.

Ah!  So cute!  Those pants are totally hot right now.

If you’ve ever seen “Matilda,” there is a line from that movie that my family loves to use. Matilda is reading a book at the dinner table while the rest of her disfunctional family is eating TV dinners in front of the television.   Her father (Danny Devito), says to her out of disgust that she’s reading, “Hey!  Are you in this family?”  At this point, Matilda pauses and says, “Mmmmm….”  Danny Devito says back to her, “Dinner time is family time!”  It’s freakin’ hilarious, especially because we now always ask each other, “ARE YOU IN THIS FAMILY??”  hahahahaha….for no reason at all.

Helping out today made me feel part of the family, and coming from a Latina, there’s nothing better than that.

Follow LBL on twitter: @LoveBeingLatino

 

 

This entry was posted in Art, Design, Los Angeles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

