Simple pleasures

I think I might have to start a new post in addition to my “Soupers,” about all my precious gems I find at the thrift stores.  What shall it be called?  Souper Gems?  Souper Sweets!! Is that cheesy?  And embarrassing?  I kinda likey…

The other day I took a stroll to my favorite thrifty and even though I was looking only to buy housewares items, I somehow strolled into the sweater/coat section.  FRICK! Whyyyy do I do these things to myself?!  OF COURSE, I found a few things I just had to own.  Ugh.  Good thing my addiction isn’t at Barney’s or All Saints.  Phew!

I took the advice of my lovely friend Anne from Ritournelle Blog and decided on taking pics of myself IN the clothes so you could see what they look like on.  WOW, whatta concept, huh?  I know, I know.  But I’ve been so hesitant because I didn’t start this blog to feature pictures of myself in sezzy outfits…but I guess it makes sense.  HAHA.  Call me stubborn.  You win Anne.  😉

*Disclaimer: Please forgive the messy outfits and GREASY face.  I work early and my skin hasn’t been touched by cleanliness since 5am this morning.  Gross, but it’s real life people.  Next time I’ll plan this a little better and make sure I gots my outfit lookin’ FWOINE and some war paint on my face.

Salvation Army: $4

Faux-fur collar on a faux suade jacket.  Sah-weet.

St. Vincent De Paul: $10.  A little steep on the price, but I couldn’t walk away!

Puff sleeve wool/angora mix textured jacket.  DREAM.  So soft and perfect!

St. VDP: $7

Space-dye, crochet woven coat with pockets.  Are you kidding me?!  DIE!

Welp.  Das all for now.  But since I’m on the hunt for several things to collect for the wedding (now that I’m five months away from the big day!!  Yiiipes!), I’ll be thrifting tomorrow as well.  I’m going to do my best and stay away from the clothes…YEAH RIGHT!  Waaat-waat (that’s the Debbie Downer sound, get it?).

Oh yeah…HAPPY HALLOWEEN WEEKEND!!!  Gah, things are happening so fast for me that I haven’t given it one thought!!  How sad.  Am I getting old or am I getting older? Ugh.

This entry was posted in Fashion, Los Angeles, Souper Sweets, Styling. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Simple pleasures

  1. hey heres a thought…you live in socal and im frazzzlledd over here in the nyc…so send some $thriftys my way…all the good stuff is taken here 😦 love the post PS. kisskiss.

  2. kristina rachel bing smith says:

    DIS IS WHAT I LIKE

  3. Ritournelle says:

    OMG I just saw you mentioned me in a post!! Thank you so much ;-D
    Your pictures look way better. I never go to thrift stores but you wear the clothes so well it gives them a second life. Congrats!
    NYC is a little rough right now. I have yet to find a nice apartment. Hopefully next week…
    Have a great weekend!

  4. Jackie Cummings says:

    You need to thank Anne for the good advice. Loved the first pic of the jacket but not the second and third, UNTIL I SAW IT ON YOU! I think you’re going to turn your Nina into a thrifter, too! Yeah!

  5. nikki says:

    love your rachael zoe-esque hunchy shoulders. xoxo, you thrift market maven…miss you.

Leave a Reply

