Cash in the City

My lovely friend Emily and I were discussing the importance of having cash in your wallet on our drive to the Pasadena Rose Bowl flea market this morning.  Living in Los Angeles, it’s nearly critical to have cash on you.  You never know when you’ll run into needing it. We came up with several circumstances, but these are probably the most frequent to L.A. residents.

1. Parking.  MOTHER EFF.  Parking in L.A. is sparse, so cash is needed for not only parking garages, but valet.  Ugh.

2. Hole-in-the-wall restaurants.  There are hundreds of these tiny food joints all around L.A. that just refuse to take plastic.  And you know you’ll keep going back, because usually the menu is just too delightfully cheap.  Haha.

3. And my favorite, clothing stores.  I’m always deathly afraid, scanning the register area for that horrible hand written sign that says, “CASH ONLY.”  It’s the absolute worst when you’re ready to purchase, and then they tell you, “Ohhhh.  Sorry.  Cash only.”  HUH?!! Who does this anymore?!  Get in the NOW people.  Even the iPhone has a tiny addition called Square, where you can accept credit cards using YOUR PHONE.  I mean, COME ON.

This conversation started because I was fresh out, and I absolutely refuse to get cash out from the ATM at the Rose Bowl because they totally punch you in the throat with the additional $5 fee.  Really?  It already costs $9 just to get in.  Thieves I tell ya!!

ANYWHO…

This is what my cash bought me today:

Black felt hat with little braid detailing.  I have a tiny pin-head, so this hat that would normally fit a toddler, fits me.  No wonder it was only $5.  Haha.

The softest leather bag I’ve ever owned.  It’s so soft, it nearly melts.  I’ve never heard of the brand, which says “Earthbags,” but I’m totally in love.  It was one of those things where you’re afraid to ask “how much?” in fear for it being totally out of your price range…but I did anyway.  And she said $20.  I’m sure you can guess what I said.  “MINE.”

Uh-huh.  Baby cross ring.

Ran into an awesome jewelry designer/vendor who sells all kinds of cute jewelry.  Her name is Suzy and she is Rossmore.  I quickly fell in love with her stuff and nearly bought the ring off her finger (I chose the same ring she was wearing, but a slightly different color).

She reminded me so much of my good friend Amanda (aka: Love Me Two Times) that we instantly hit it off and acted like BFFs since elementary.  I haven’t taken the ring off ALL DAY!!  So happy I made this purchase!  Online they are around $100, but Suzy hooked it up.  Thanks Suzy!!  Love you long time!

If you want a gem like I got (and meet Suzy), Rossmore will be at Yeah Gurl, That\’s The Price this coming Saturday, November 20th at the Urban Outfitters on Melrose Avenue.

The Rose Bowl Flea Market is every 2nd Sunday of the month.  Just remember to has that cash!

So glad I got all these gems without the dumb $5 fee.  Yippee!!

This entry was posted in Fashion, Los Angeles, Souper Sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cash in the City

  1. justin says:

    i fully fashioned out on this post. Now I’m gonna have to go hunt a cougar with my bare hands.

  2. Pat Schmidt says:

    WoW, you got E to carry cash? Never seen any of my kids with the green. I thought they didn’t know what it was, kind of like smoke signals vs iphone.

  3. Megs says:

    oooooooo i recognized some pretty nail polish! its perfect on you!

  4. Ritournelle says:

    Speaking of cash, I have to get used to the US habit of giving tips. We never (or rarely) give any in France so it’s all new for me. And to be honest, I feel it’s kind of a pain when the service is bad!

Leave a Reply

