Hand-me-down.

It is now January 7th, 2011.  For most of us, that means it’s friday.  For others, maybe it’s their birthday.  For me, it means I have 78 DAYS LEFT UNTIL I’M MARRIED.  Holy mother.  The day is coming sooner and sooner, and there are still plenty of things that need to get done.  We have all the important things taken care of: venue, bar, catering, DJ, dress, shoes…..bag….

Which leads me to this post.

My amazing Great Grandmother lived a life of luxury and beauty.  She and my Great Grandfather traveled the world and delighted in being socialites among their peers.  I have seen many photos of her dressed to the nines in gorgeous gowns and furs, probably on her way to a gala, or dinner party (as I like to imagine).  She was quite the character.

Whenever I ask my Grandma (my mom’s mom), about Grandma La-La (my Great-Grandmother, that’s what we called her) and her AMAZING wardrobe and jewels, she simply says that when she died, everything was taken–by family, friends, by the women who took care of her–so she really has nothing.  It breaks my heart every time to know that not even my Grandma has any of her stuff!!!  Gah!  I can only dream of the goodies Grandma La-La once had…how I would delight in it!

To my incredible surprise, a few months back, my Grandma gave my mom something to give me.  My mom handed me a small plastic bag and ever so nonchalantly said, “Oh, here.  Grandma said you can have this.”  I open it up, and OH. MY. LANTA.  You’ve GOT to be KIDDING me.

Grandma La-La’s gun-metal, beaded, fringe bag, probably from the 1930s.  I DIED.

I mean!!!  WHAT?!!  It’s insane!  Perfect condition, and sooo perfect for the look I’m going for.  I could not believe it.  I’m the luckiest girl in the world (as Rihanna would say).

On to bedazzling my wedding shoes….weeee!!!

 

This entry was posted in Fashion, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hand-me-down.

  1. Kristina Rachel Bing Smith says:

    MAKE ME FEEL LIKE I’M THE ONLY GIRL IN THE WORLD LIKE I’M THE ONLY ONE THAT YOU’LL EVER LOVE.

    ok rachel. does granny want to get killed!?

  2. Grandma says:

    Hi Mija,
    The purse looks beautiful. I’m so happy you appreciate it, it couldn’t have gone to a better person.
    Have you ever seen the Nate Berkus Show? Today he showed where people have put items in a shadow box and displayed on the wall. You should tape his show, he airs at 2:00 pm on channel 4. He has great ideas for people on a budget or who don’t want to pay an arm and a leg for ideas.

    Love,
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

