Arty pants.

Every Thursday the MOCA (Museum of Contemporary Art) near Downtown Los Angeles is free from 5pm-8pm.  So last Thursday, guess what we did.  YUP.

A group of us decided it was time for a little culture and check out the exhibit that everyone’s been buzzing about called “Art in The Streets.”  It’s basically graffiti from the 1970s to now…from all over the world.  Sounds fancy, huh?

Besides the fact that the exhibit is FREE, they also allow you to take photos, which I thought was amazing since every museum I’ve been to, they don’t like you to smile or walk too quickly.  Way to go MOCA!!  I’m sure they had an idea what kind of crowd they would be getting and decided to let loose.  Bravo!

I took some pics of my favorite stuff, unfortunately, I’m a total AMATURE and didn’t capture all the names of the artists.  I KNOWWWW.  IDIOT!!  What’s the point of the art if you can’t give the artist the so-very-needed credit that they SO DESPERATELY cry their wimpy eyes out for?  Ugh.  I’m so dumb.  I mean, I have most of the names, just not all.  Oh well.

I guess I should have known (again, AMATURE), but I was surprised to see so many gang related pieces.  In fact, I’m such a wuss, I actually felt FEAR looking at some of the Chicano tattoos and lifestyle photos.  I mean, in all seriousness, I don’t need to see guns, and busted heads and guys holding their naked wieners.  DOES ANYONE?!  Don’t get me wrong, not all of the exhibit was like this, but obviously, this is where the grafitti culture began, and there was a large section devoted to it.

Scary.

Anywho…there was plenty of satire from Mr. Banksy which rounded the exhibit out, along with live skateboarders showing off in a small rink.  Rink?  That’s not what you call it, is it?  Uhhh…skateboarding…PARK?  Haha.

Some pics:

This is one of my favorites.  The first time I saw this Los Angeles born artist RETNA, was at an art show years ago in Riverside, California.  Super random show we went to, but I will never forget seeing these crazy bright blue symbols on an all white background. LOVE.

Here’s another I pulled from Swamp Style:

Beauty.

This is French artist André.  This is his distinct character that has been drawn all over the world.  Including, right behind my house.  Well, on the side of Umami Burger, which just so happens to be 30 seconds from my house, so whatever–it’s the same thing.  I’m still cool, ok.  I’ll take a picture to prove how cool I am later.  Thanks.

I call this the music face wall.  Sorry artist who worked your life away….hahahahahaha.

Paper!!  It’s PAPER!  How dare she be so talented.

These are by Swoon and I believe this piece is called “Ice Princess.”  I learned about this girl in the documentary called “Beautiful Losers.”  She’s pretty darn brilliant and lives in NYC.

A little bit of Shepard Fairey for ya.

Mr. Banksy.  This mural was huuuge, so you’ll have to excuse my 2 part photos.  There were so many people in my way!!  Move it lose it people!!!!  That’s what I WANTED to say.

This one had a lot of artists involved.  These creepy Disneyland mannequins were holding each other up and the guy at the top’s arm was “faux-spraying” back and forth, back and forth.  EEK.  It was like Knotts Scary Farm in that corner.  If you see something like this in real life, don’t keep walking, turn around, ok?  Go the OTHER WAY.

These next couple were ones that stood out to me.  Super eery, but kind of luminous. They sort of remind me of angels.

Or demons I suppose.  HAHAHA.  It’s all in the way you look at it.

1960s spray paint.  Invented in 1949 by Edward Seymour, it became mass produced in 1960 for automotive industries.

This was another terrifying room designed by Los Angeles native Kenny Scharf.  Looks like a bunch of shananagans to me.  Or like The Simpsons had a party and shoved everything left over in the closet.  Cool, but not cool.  Right?

WEELLLLL…that’s it friends.  There is a lot more to check out, these were just pieces that stood out to ME.  I am glad I went, of course.  Now I sound totally awesome when I can start a convo like, “Sooo…have you seen the ice cream truck with naked ladies on it holding guns and candy covering their privates? OOOOO, you should GO.”

Oh yeah.

This entry was posted in Art, Artist, Los Angeles, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arty pants.

  1. Ritournelle says:

    Wow, such a cool exhibit! Thanks for sharing all these pictures!
    And yes, museums should totally allow you to take pictures anytime, anywhere. That way I wouldn’t risk a heart attack everytime I take my camera out for future blog posts.

Leave a Reply

