Indian Princess

Oh good heavens.  I went back in time for a second and read all my previous posts.  It looks as though I was pretty inconsistent!  Haa!!  Whoopsies.  Yes, I know.  The last time I posted was in JANUARY.  January!!  Please forgive me, as I was just starting a brand new job, and I dunno….making a LIFE LONG COMMITMENT TO FIANCE.

If you didn’t know…

I GOT MARRIED!!  YIPPPEEE!!  Not only did Fiance and I get married (oh, I guess his name changed too–Husband?), but we took a lovely trip to colorful India for our honeymoon.  It was honestly indescribable.  So many colors, spices, people–noises–it was vibrant with life in the least. I have put together a small collection of photographs for all to enjoy.  Believe me, there are TONS more, but this was my way of not boring anyone with 536 pictures of strangers.  I am not a photographer, but I’d like to think that some of these turned out quite lovely!  I might just have to frame some!

I also have some pictures of the wedding to share with people who are not able to see them through the good ‘ol Facespace (Ritournelle Blog, that means you love), along with a very special video performance….consider this blog post my wedding update, even though I could have been sharing with you this info months ago.  🙂  C’monnnnn.  Give me a break!

Before we begin, these are just photos from iPhones and other cameras that just so happened to grasp some good shots.  Unfortunately, I don’t believe there are many of Husband, because well–boys don’t take photos and I wasn’t with him until after we were married.  The REAL profesh hired photographer photos are coming real soon.  Those I will gladly post as soon as they are here!! I’ve seen some previews and they are AMAZING.

Ok, now that I have the disclaimer out of the way…let’s begin, shall we?

Wedding first…The Horizon Hotel in Palm Springs, California.  The weather report said rain all week (the reason I chose the desert is simply because IT.DOES.NOT.RAIN.), so you could imagine my discomfort when it was pouring on our way out there.  Oh–what’s that God??  You love me and you’re going to move the clouds and terrible weather aside just in time??????  THAT HAPPENED.  Pure joy.

Both of these beautiful images are from my friend Natalie…thanks Nat!!  So amazing!

My dad and father-in-law.  I like to call this picture: The Dads.  Fitting, right?

My good friend and photographer Bradley Johnson (who also took our engagement pictures) snuck in right before I went to walk down the aisle–yes, like a papparazzo–and took this of me standing in the bathroom.  I was a little nervous and very excited at this moment…

My besty and Maid of Honor made a few of these fun collages for me with some iPhone app called Diptic??  Be careful how you say it–words can fly.  Haha…I don’t know what the program is, but it makes great little pieces!

This is her!

The in-laws!!

One of my most favorite pictures of the day…my fam-bam!  We look GOOOOD.  Not gonna lie.  I’m the oldest of 3 goyles…the youngest on the left and the middle on the right. Aren’t they beautiful??!!!  Even my parents are killing it…hahaha!

Another photo by Bradley.

I mean, Natalie…really?!  This is amazing…mine and Husbands first dance.  I don’t have any pictures of the ceremony yet, but that’s because everyone taking photos was paying attention to the wedding. DUH.  Ceremony pics will be alive and well once the REAL pics come in.

The dessert bar nearly empty!

Yup.  You don’t have to rub your eyes.  This is legit.  I SANG to Husband at our reception. Even better, it was filmed and put on YouTube (thanks Josh).

Here ya go:

You’re welcome.  YES, that’s the Jagged Edge and Remarqable Remix “Let’s Get Married.” It just so happened that Russell Simmons has the same last name as me and decided to rap about it.  I couldn’t help having one of the groomsmen act as him and sing about me…now could I??  It just HAD to be done.

Ok ok…on to India.  We flew into Mumbai, then traveled to Udaipur (amazing little city), then to Kollam, Kumily (our hotel was in a jungle atmosphere, so awesome), Kovalum (the beach!) and back up to Mumbai to fly home.

Our room key.

My FAVE.  This one I have to frame.

What a gift!!  Husband surprised me by having us stay at the most incredible hotel called The Lake Palace.

We brought home so many spices!

We took a bamboo raft trip on the reservoir.

Husband went surfing!!

We met up with our good friend Bjorn while he was just traveling through Mumbai…and no, he’s not Indian.  He just looks like it.  HAHAHAHAHA.

And there you have it.  I hope you all feel caught up…I sure do.  While I’m now kept busy by playing “house wife,” I am getting back into the swing of all things normal.  Working, grocery shopping, not ignoring my friends, infusing vodka, watching Glee, blogging…you know, only the important things.

Thanks for not giving up on me–well–maybe some of you have, but it’s okay!!  I don’t blame you!!  I think I might run into Megan Morrow sooner rather than later, so maybe I’ll get that Souper #8 column ready….

Until next time!!!

This entry was posted in Photography, Travel, Uncategorized, Vacation, Wedding, Youtube. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Indian Princess

  1. Ritournelle says:

    Wow Cathleen, that is a major UPDATE!!! Thanks so much for the beautiful pictures and travel notes. You seem to be having the time of your life; so happy for you!!
    Your musings on Donut Soup were missed. Glad you’re back on the blogosphere. 🙂
    And congratulations again on your wedding! That song was awesome 😉

  2. Amber says:

    I love getting shout outs… You need to make a frame AREA or WALL of just the india pictures. they kill me softly. Love this post. Love you fran!

Leave a comment